Eating Healthy

Since discovering I had a gluten-intolerence, lactose-intolerance, and “leaky gut” issues I’ve eliminated a lot of foods from my diet. First let me explain what “leaky gut” is for those who don’t know.  When I first heard someone use the term leaky gut I thought she was crazy.  That term didn’t sound medically proper to me. Here’s a quote from an article called, “Leaky Gut Syndrome in plain English” on the scd lifestyle website. http://scdlifestyle.com/2010/03/the-scd-diet-and-leaky-gut-syndrome/

 “The term Leaky Gut Syndrome is used to describe the condition of “Hyperpermeable Intestines”.  A fancy medical term that means the intestinal lining has became more porous, with more holes developing that are larger in size and the screening out process is no longer functioning properly.  The fallout results in larger, undigested food molecules and other “bad stuff” (yeast, toxins, and all other forms of waste) that your body normally doesn’t allow through, to flow freely into your bloodstream.”

 This “bad stuff” made me feel tired, weak, and basically ill all over. Taking a close look at what I was eating was a huge key in helping me feel better.  I began to recognize the first symptoms of a leaky gut episode.  Then I was able to pinpoint it to a certain food.  So the elmination of foods began. 

 Of course discovering gluten-intolerence made gluten the first group to go. Then most foods made with corn.  Next, a breathe test from the doctors office revealed my lactose-intolerance.  Not long after that sugar (white sugar, not natural sugar such as fruit), along with anything high fructose or highly processed.  I’ve also never trusted soy.  I don’t know why, just something in me that said stay away from it.  Since then I found documents to back that up.  Here’s an article that talks more about that. http://dogtorj.com/what-is-food-intolerance/what-is-the-leaky-gut/    I used to eat scrambled eggs for breakfast but they started bothering me too, so out they went.

So now I’ve elminated a good portion of food out there.  So what do you eat?  I get that question a lot.  I found eating the basics of fruits, vegetables, and meat (“clean” beef and chicken) keep me feeling my best.  I stick with organic, no hormones or other icky stuff, as much as I can.  It seems so simple.  So practical.  Some people call this clean eating or a gamut of other names. 

I came to this diet by remembering that God made our bodies and knows how it functions best.  He is for life and health of His creation. He provided for all living things by giving the food they need in the area they live.  Look in nature at all God has provided for us.  Now, in a perfect world we could eat from the goodness he offers and do well.  However, most of us have done damage to our bodies from the different junk that’s in our food (things we may not know are in there) or willingly bad food choices or bad DNA.  Depending on what your health is like will depend on what foods in nature will be best for you.  Take a look the benefits different foods have and what your body needs and eat that.  There’s a lot of different diets out there but I believe if we would just educate ourselves on food and what it does, we can live healthier lives. 

I’m not saying diet is a cure all to all diseases.  I am saying diet has ALOT more to do with how we feel then we may think.  I’ve been amazed at some things I’ve been learning about food and our bodies.

~Did you know vegetable oil is made from soybean oil?  I didn’t until I looked at the bottle just the other day.  You can replace it with coconut oil or olive oil for a healthier option. 

~Did you know that over 95% of the bodies seratonin is found in the GI tract.  Diet then not only effects our overall physical health but also our emotions, memory and mental clarity.  (Quote taken from http://www.puristat.com/braingut/serotonin.aspx )

~Did you know that flaxseed works great for constipatiImageon?  Flaxseed  helps against inflammation in our bodies.  It can also help with cholesterol, heart disease and cancer to name a few.  Keifer is also great for constipation and it’s 99% lactose free.  I know constipation isn’t something people like to talk about but it happens and when it happens you can get pretty desperate to stop it. Flaxseed and keifer have been awesome for me in this area.  Also fruits and of couse a lot of water.  It sure beats reaching for the Miralax my doctors kept telling me to take.  Which, by the way, caused me to have more leaky gut episodes.  

~There’s a lot of talk out there about whole grain having great fiber.  Did you know that fruit has 2x the amount of fiber as grains and veggies have 8x more?  I really need to eat more veggies.  I have found myself craving fruit more instead of cookies since I’ve changed my eating habbits.  That’s a big deal for me.  I used to eat cookies like chips.  This tells me that your tastebuds will adapt to what you feed them just like they say they will.

I’ve also learned how to adapt most of my old recipes to be healthier. Except for Mexican food.  I really miss mexican food.  Does anyone know how I can replace flour tortillas and not use something made with corn?  I miss chicken quesadillas, burritos and soft shell tacos.  I also used to make a great chicken fettucine alfredo but it has a lot of dairy in it.  Does anyone know of a version with less lactose?  I think the whipping cream would not go well with me.  

One last point that really helped me is taking probiotics every day.  My GI Dr. highly recommends Align probiotics but they have milk in it so it may bother some people with lactose-intolerence depending on how sensitive your body is.  I use Culturelle probiotics.  There probiotics for children too.  I give them to my girls and it seems to help.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m not a medical professional but I’m hoping that some of the things I’ve been through can help someone else out there live healthier and feel better.

2 thoughts on “Eating Healthy

  1. Last year, before I started losing weight, I had that same epiphany: God put the right food on this Earth to feed his animals. It’s simple and true, but so hard sometimes. Anyway, Udi’s makes rice tortillas, that might help, I don’t know if there’s corn in there. I do know lots can be made with brown rice flour, sorghum, and tapioca flour. I am not a great baker, so if I can’t find something in the store, I just avoid it. I use salsa to flavor taco meat sometimes just eat that with lettuce when I am craving Mexican. Cilantro adds a great flavor too.

    I am glad you found what was wrong and that you are feeling better. I also love the look of your new blog!

    1. Thanks Courtney! I’ll have to look into Udi’s tortillas. I’ve had there bread before but wasn’t aware they had tortillas. I’m glad you like the new blog.

Leave a Reply

