“New” Clothes

It’s so awesome how God provides for His people.  The bible tells us He will take care of us.  He knows we need food, clothing and shelter and He gives those things to us.  Time and time again I have seen firsthand how the Lord has done this in my life.  Often times I get clothes for the kids from somebody.  Seeing bags of clothes for the kids doesn’t get old.  I’m always so appreciative of how God provides.  It’s always at just the right time. 

One of my favorite stories of His provision of clothes is how He provided for me earlier this year.  If you’ve been reading my blog you know I went through some health problems.  I was losing weight and didn’t know why.  I couldn’t seem to stop it either.  As a result my clothes were not fitting anymore.  They were very baggy.  It was beyond not looking good on me.  I needed clothes that fit but we had little money and I didn’t know what I was going to do.   

I remember trying on most of the things in my closet.  I would look in the mirror and just cry.  I didn’t know what was going on with my body. Why was I losing weight?  I didn’t like the bony figure I saw in the mirror.  I was scared and frustrated.  Then I remembered some boxes I put way up high in my daughter’s closet.  A couple of years ago my sister-in-law gave me some clothes.  They were all in big bags along with some clothes from my brother-in-law for my husband.  We didn’t sort through the clothes til we got home.  Then I realized the sizes were small.  I had just had my fourth child and was having troubles losing the pregnancy weight.  So when I saw these small ladies clothes I laughed.  “Yeah, like that’s every going to fit me.  I wasn’t even that small in high school.”  I remember telling my husband.  They were nice clothes though.  Some still had tags on them.  So I decided to hold on to them for my daughter to grow into. I boxed them up and threw them up high in her closet where they had been sitting about two years now.  My husband got the boxes for me and I began trying on all these clothes.  Most of them fit me.  It was a bittersweet moment.  I had never planned on being small enough to fit these clothes yet I was so thankful I had them.  So thankful that God cares enough about me to have provided for me before I even needed them.  With every item I put on that fit I felt God’s comfort. He was right there with me and cared about what I was going through. He would provide and care for me every step of the way.  These clothes were a gentle reminder to me of what a caring God I serve.   sparrow

Leave a Reply

