The Perfect Fit

 

My seven year old son has gotten the majority of his clothes 2nd hand from generous people who wanted to bless us. So thankful for those people. However, now he has holes in almost all his jeans. Most days we say home and do school so holes aren’t a big deal. There has been a few times though we’ve had to run to the store and I didn’t think about his jeans until we’re in the cold winter air and he says his knees are cold. The holes were buggging both him and I, so as soon as we had a little extra money we bought him some new jeans. We discovered he needs slim jeans which, didn’t surprise me. Both of my boys are skinny guys. When we got home he tried on his new jeans. “They don’t fit.” he said. I took a look and they fit perfect. I said, “What do you mean they don’t fit they look perfect.” Then I remembered my sons way of putting on clothes and I asked him, “Did you try to put these on without unsnapping or unzipping them first?” “Yeah”, he said. “You’re not supposed to be able to put on pants without unsnapping and unzipping them first. You’re just used to your clothes not fitting right. These are perfect on you.” To show him they fit well I had him run down the hall and into his room and back. I said, “See, your pants didn’t fall down, did they.”

 

The next day I picked up another pair for him. Same size but a little different style. I took them home and told him to try them on. “They don’t fit again.” he said and appeared before me. I took one look and said, “You tried them on without unbuttoning and unzipping them again, didn’t you?” “Oops, I forgot.” he said. He had gotten so used to his clothes fitting wrong that he thought that’s how they were supposed to be.

 

I think as Christians we can go through our daily life and forget that God has clothed us in garments of salvation and in robes of righteousness. (Isaiah 61:10) We get bogged down with things of this world that we forget we don’t have to wear despair as a part of our life anymore. Before we were saved that was all we knew but now that we’ve accepted Christ He has given us garments of praise instead of a spirit of despair. He’s given us a crown of beauty instead of ashes. (Isaiah 61:3)

 

Sometimes we accept wrong standards of this world as being right, just like my son accepted being able to put on his clothes without unbuttoning them as normal. Now there’s not a huge difference between size 6 regular and size 6 slim but there’s enough difference that he can run without having to hold his pants up. We can’t move through our Christian walk very well either when we’ve accepted the wrong fit. When we clothe ourselves with humility, kindness, compassion, gentleness and patience (Colossians 3:12, I Peter 5:5) we find ourselves walking in step with our Savior. We can do so much more work for the Lord when we clothe ourselves this way. When we remember how God has clothed us, with salvation, righteousness, and beauty we can live victorious lives. This is the perfect fit for us.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

