Waiting through the eyes of a Child

I am amazed at how much my children teach me. I learn so many life lessons through them. I can often relate to how the Lord must see us. I’ve been waiting on the Lord for some things for months now and have been growing impatient. The Lord has been highlighting in my spirit times my children have to wait for me and teaching me through them. Here are two of those recent life lessons.

My three-year-old son will often ask me for a drink or to put a movie in for him. Usually I have a list of things in my head that I’m working on. So my normal answer is, “Just wait. I’ll get it for you in a minute.” My son will wait maybe 60 seconds and say, “It’s taking to long.” The other day we went through this routine but this time when I told him to wait he said, “ It always takes to long.” I just smiled because I understand that his concept of time is on a much smaller, more immediate scale then mine. He doesn’t have the capacity to understand how time works. His impatience didn’t change anything about me. I didn’t hurry up or change my answer just because he didn’t want to wait. Instead I knew the waiting would be good for him and over time he will learn that, though the wait seems long, he will get his drink or be able to watch his movie. (I was also thinking how cute he is because …he is and I’m a little biased.)

I wonder if this is the way the Lord sees us. His concept of time is so much broader then ours. The forefathers who set up the government for the U.S. seem so long ago to us but only a short time ago to the Lord. Our short amount of years here on Earth, in comparison to all of time, is so small. I know I get impatient. I get tired of waiting on the Lord. I think I’ve been doing a great job waiting and have reason to fuss but to the Lord, it’s been just a little while. My impatience will probably not change the Lord’s answer to me. He knows waiting produces good things in me. He knows the right time for things to happen in my life. I need to trust He will do what He says He will do. I need to remember that there is a reason things need to happen in a certain order. I don’t always know the reason but I don’t need to. I just need to trust that my Heavenly Father has it all under control. Also that He always loves me.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. Proverbs 3:5

I was giving my kids their vitamins. My two oldest were standing in front of me waiting. I dumped several of the vitamins in my hand. As if in some hurry, my 11 year old daughter exclaimed, “I want the purple one!” I looked at my hand and realized there was only one purple one. Before I had a chance to hand it to her she snatched it out of my hand. I couldn’t believe she did that. She normally has better manners. I was planning on giving it to her and didn’t appreciate her taking it the way she did. I explained this to her and she said, “Sorry.” I knew she really was sorry. She tried to put it back in my hand to make up for it but it was for her. I didn’t want it. I gave it back to her and told her to be a little more patient next time.

Again I could see my tendencies to do the same thing. The Lord opens His hand to bless me and instead of being patient enough for Him to give it to me I try to quicken the process by my own actions. Really I should be standing there ready to receive with thankfulness. Our Heavenly Father wants to give us good things, things that will strengthen us, help us grow. Things we enjoy and things we want. Our Father is a good Father and knows what’s good for His children. He doesn’t keep any good thing back from His children. There is a timing factor though. When we wait for His timing we will enjoy it so much more then when we take things into our own hands.

If you are like me and found yourself growing impatient or have even taken this into your owns hands before the right time, don’t feel condemned. The Holy Spirit may convict you so you can change your ways and learn but never condemn you. He takes no joy in making you feel bad. Our heavenly Father still wants to give you good things. Just remember to be patient next time.

Be still and know that I am God. Psalm 46:10a (The New American Standard version says, “Cease striving and know that I am God.”)

Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength…Isaiah 40:31

purple flower

 

Leave a Reply

