Time with Daddy

luke and daddy

This is one of my favorite pictures. One evening last summer my family had come inside. A little time had passed and I realized I didn’t know where my husband or youngest son were. I looked through the house but didn’t find them. I glanced outside but didn’t see them. The mom in me wanted to panic but I figured my son was probably with my husband. I stood in the living room for a moment and very quietly I could hear someone  on the front porch. I looked out the window and saw this scene. I grabbed the camera and took a picture through the screen window. (That’s why it looks a little grainy.)

I love the feel of this picture. The moment was quiet and peaceful. Like they didn’t care if time existed. They were enjoying a few moments of the evening together. It didn’t matter that Marc (my husband) is so much bigger then our son, he just loved being with him.

I love it because that’s how our heavenly Father is with us. We don’t have to have the right wording. What we say could come out in pieces, like a two-year-old’s story. It doesn’t matter because He’s our Father and He speaks our language. We don’t even have to say anything at all. We just need to be willing to still ourselves for a few minutes and enjoy the moment. Our daddy loves us so much, He takes us as we are. No matter our season. No matter our level of maturity. He surrounds us with His peace and love when we still ourselves. I don’t know about you, but I’ve sure needed to spend time my my daddy lately.

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you or forsake you. Do not be afraid, do not be discouraged.” Deuteronomy 31:8

 

 

Leave a Reply

