Fruit of the Spirit Summer: Love

 

 

fruit of the spirit tree

 

I’ve been planning on teaching my kids the Fruit of the Spirit for several months now. I couldn’t find lessons that was geared for the ages of my kids. I have four children but I try to gear bible class for the 7th grader and 2nd grader. There is an excellent resource for preschool children at http://www.mamaslearningcorner.com. If you have a preschooler you should check it out. I used a few of her ideas, like her fruit basket craft.

I decided just to write some of my own lessons and find crafts, games and bible stories to fill in the rest. Summer was the perfect opportunity for me to do the fruit of the Spirit. We take a two week break at the beginning and end of the summer so there are nine weeks in between that we are doing light schoolwork. Mainly math and reading so they don’t forget what they’ve learned. There are also nine fruit of the Spirit so it worked out perfectly. I wanted to show you all what we did in case any of you need ideas for this topic. We are going through one fruit per week. I am trying to have a simple memory verse for each week and have some snacks that go along with the fruit of the week. I didn’t come up with the snack idea until late in the first week so we didn’t so many yummy snacks that week.

Our memory verse for week one was I John 4:16 “God is love.” Day one of week one I explained what bearing fruit meant. If you’ve never heard the term before it could sound pretty weird so I wanted to be sure we were all on the same page from the beginning. I bearing fruitwrote a lesson on bearing fruit.  Bearing Fruit  We also began the fruit basket craft I mentioned earlier and they colored their basket and taped it on construction paper. (You can use glue. We used tape because glue and my kids don’t always work well together. Also my kids use tape for almost everything.)

Day two of week one I introduced love and used a lesson I wrote.  Love They also colored and cut out their strawberry which represented love for us because it’s clGod is loveose to the shape of a heart. Then they taped it in their basket.

Day three I told them the bible story in Luke 7:36-50 about the woman who poured perfume on Jesus’ feet. I happened to have had a picture for the kids to color of a perfume bottle left over from church. There are many great stories in the bible that show love. You could use your favorite. This one worked for me because I had a few visuals to go with it.

Day four I read them I Corinthians 13:4-8 and made sure they understood what it meant. Then we played a game called “Love Is, Love Is Not”. I found it on pinterest. It’s a matching game with words like trusts, hopes, or gets angry. There are also big X’s on some cards and big hearts on others. You need to match up the hearts with the characteristics of love. If it’s not a characteristic of love you need to match it with an X. It really helped drive home the idea of what love looks like.

Day five we went through scenarios of how we would want to be treated and how we should treat others. Then we brainstormed of who we could show love to and how we could show love to them. I plan to have them follow through on some of their ideas. This would be a good time to find community service projects your kids can get involved in. I’ve been finding that challenging with my kids being so young but I have a few ideas up my sleeve.

Along with the fruit for each week I’m making snacks and different treats for the kids to try with that weeks fruit in it. This also works nicely into my plans for the summer because I’m wanting to focus more on exercising and cooking. I love it when things come together like that. For the snacks we had plain strawberries one day and cupcakes (gluten-free for us) with strawberries in it another day.

The week went well and the kids seemed to have understood bearing fruit and what love looks like.

Leave a Reply

