Fruit of the Spirit Summer: Joy

P1000415

I chose an orange to represent the second fruit of the spirit, joy, because when you cut an orange into slices it looks like a smile. I really debated about the memory verse for this week. It was between “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!” Philippians 4:4 or Nehemiah 8:10, “The joy of the Lord is my strength.” After praying and thinking about it I went with Nehemiah 8:10.

Day one we talked about what joy is using a lesson I wrote. Joy Then they colored and cut their oranges and taped them in their fruit basket. For a snack we has orange slices.

Day two we watched a short but good video on how we, as Christians, keep our joy. You can find it on You Tube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXR4GR0F6gE&list=UU82usKqyeVWg_4kH9B_we4Q&index=7&feature=plcp
It’s called Magic by Scott O’Neill. I don’t know why it’s called magic. I’m the type of person that stays clear of “magic”. This is actually a great video on joy. My kids loved it. The visual really helped them understand the message.

I prepared the snack the night before. I peeled some oranges. Put the orange slices in a bowl. Added whip cream and marshmallows. Mixed them together and put it in the fridge. I thought the kids would love it because they like oranges and they love marshmallows. None of them liked it! My kids aren’t crazy about whip cream. Then I remembered none of them like whip cream on their pie at Thanksgiving. That’s so weird to me. I’m used to making sure I can find the pie under the whip cream. Anyway, it was worth a shot and at least they’re trP1000425ying new things.

Day three I pulled out my scrapbook supplies.  We made a craft with our memory verse on it.

Day four I gave them a quick summary of when the Israelites were freed by God from slavery in Egypt. They’ve heard the story of the ten plagues before so I went through that part quickly but focused on how joyful they were when they saw the waters closing in over their enemies. God had saved them and they knew they no longer had to fear the Egyptians because they saw them swallowed up by the sea with their own eyes. I then showed them the relation between that story and how Jesus has freed us through His death and resurrection.

I had great plans to make homemade orange soda for a snack from a recipe I found on Pinterest but I was not feeling so ambitious. So they had mandarin oranges instead.

Day five we sang songs of joy from a kids praise music CD I have. We sang “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy”, “Rejoice in the Lord Always” and “Praise ye the Lord, Hallelujah”. They had fun singing and dancing. It was a good way to end the week on joy. For our last orange snack I made gluten free homemade cinnamon rolls with orange icing. Super yummy!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

