Fruit of the Spirit Summer: Gentleness

School has started again for us. I was planning on being done with the fruit of the Spirit by now. My schedule was set back a few weeks from being sick a couple times this summer.

Our fruit of the Spirit this week was gentleness. I used a peach to represent gentleness because you have to be gentle withP1000716 peaches so you don’t bruise them. Day one I explained what gentleness meant. I used a visual exercise by having the kids string buttons on a piece of spaghetti. They had to be gentle with the spaghetti or it would snap. This was fun. Even my 3-year-old joined in. It was great for his hand-eye coordination. Next we talked about what the memory verse meant. Let your gentleness be evident to all. Philippians 4:5 I explained that evident is like the word evidence which is like a clue. When we treat people gently it’s a clue to others that we are followers of Christ. We colored, cut out and taped our paper peach to our paper fruit basket.

P1000721

Day two I showed them that Jesus was gentle. I used Zechariah 9:9 and Matthew 11:29 as bible references. Since our King Jesus is gentle, we also need to be gentle.

On day three I began talking to them about treating each other gently with our words. As an object lesson I used a lesson I found on Pinterest.  First it goes through the story of the woman with the issue of bleeding. Jesus choose to be gentle with her rather then the harsh treatment she usually gets from people. Next I used two eggs that I drew smile faces on, Eggbert and Shelly. We talked about some of the mean things people have said to us. As the kids told me those things I took a pin and poked a hole in the egg. The holes formed a circle. I explained how harsh words break a person down. Even though people are still smiling they could be hurting inside. Then I easily broke poor Eggbert. Next I took Shelly and asked if weP1000730 wanted to hurt her. They all said “NO!!!” So we said nice words to her and she stayed safe. This lesson really drew the kids in. They were on the edges of their seats with the egg activity. I think this is one they’ll remember.

Day four we reviewed yesterdays lesson and I added Proverbs 15:1 “A gentle answer turns away wrath but a harsh word stirs up anger.” (NIV) and Proverbs 15:4 “The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.” (NIV) Very good verses. Today was a similar theme as yesterday but I added harsh actions also hurt. There was another great object lesson today. I made oobleck, a mixture of equal parts of cornstarch and water. It’s a weird mixture that acts like a solid when it’s hit hard and fast but acts like water when you move through it slowly. I showed them that just like our hands don’t move through oobleck when we move fast or harshly, people also put up their walls when we treat them harshly. When we moved through the oobleck slowly it would be soft and melt in our hands. The same is true when we with people. When we are gentle with them they will allow you in their heart.
This was a great object lesson but it is messy. Be sure to keep it in a contained area. Also mix the mixture up before doing the lesson. I did it while I was talking and it seemed to work better later in the day after we left it sit for awhile.

P1000752Many of the fruit of the Spirit deal with how we act toward others. The last fruit of the Spirit, self control, is more about us then how we treat others so day five I shared with them the golden rule found in Matthew 7:12. For a craft we made a golden ruler with a foam stick and glitter. Then they watched Veggie Tales;Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler.

My home is spotted with oobleck and glitter but the lessons they learned and how involved they got was totally worth the mess.

Leave a Reply

