Enjoying the Season You’re In

P1010068

The leaves are changing to their vibrant orange, yellows and reds. The temperatures are dropping and we are bringing out warmer clothes. The change of seasons brings mixed feelings in my house. Half of my family loves the cold temperatures, snow and Christmas. The other half loves carefree summer days and basking in the warm sun. So for some of us fall means saying a sad good-bye to the glow of summer. For the others, fall is the prelude to their favorite chilly but joyful season. Yet I see fall as a season all of her own. Not an in between season but one that has her own delights to treasure. With autumn come pumpkins, apples and piles of leaves. All of nature has one last cry of how glorious our God is before it’s long winters rest. I want to enjoy the beauty of the season we’re in.

There was a time in my life that I wanted to be in a different season other then what I’m in. Three of my four children are little and I wasn’t enjoying and embracing this season like I should. I kept looking where other people are and wanted to be there instead. Several of my friends started having children early but kids came later in life for me. So my oldest is the age of their youngest. I felt left out if I wasn’t able to do what they were doing. I found myself being angry and jealous more then enjoying where I was. I knew that was not from the Lord. It was then the Lord began giving me a new perspective and a new heart for my season of life. I began to learn how to enjoy the little every day moments of life. Even in the midst of the mess and the noise. There’s only a short time of dirty hand prints on the wall or toys all over the living room floor. A short time of crumbs constantly under the dining room table no matter how many times you sweep. Only a while of holding mamas hand when walking through a parking lot or of children flocking to my side at the first crack of thunder on a humid summer day.

Sometimes the days get long and bedtime can’t come to soon. They are demanding. They need you constantly. They can be very draining and wear a mama down. Especially when you have children so close in age. It’s okay to need a break from time to time. Pray, cry, call a friend. The Lord will give you strength.

In the midst of multitasking one of my children may say or do something so sweet or silly that I’m glad I was there at that very moment with them. I’m so glad the Lord opened my eyes to see those precious moments. There are fewer better places to be then when you come to the point where you no longer long for the past nor are you wanting to fast forward to the future. It’s then you take a deep breath and enjoy what’s going on around you. Both the good and the bad. Breath it in and thank God for life. Enjoy all that God has given you. Count it a blessing to have these precious little ones to hold, raise and mold. All the while remembering it’s only for a time and a season. Enjoy the season you’re in.
There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens. Ecclesiastes 3:1 (NIV)

Children are a gift from the LORD; they are a reward from Him. Psalm 127:3 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

