Our Christmas Miracles

P1010252

This will be my husband and my tenth Christmas together as a married couple. We’ve had our share of financial struggles and most of the time can do little more then get the bills paid and food on the table. Buying Christmas presents wasn’t always possible. Our kids know the drill. We tell them we don’t have much money. We’ll buy them a thing or two but not to expect anything grand. Somehow the Lord always surprises us so our kids can have gifts to open. (I know it’s not about the gifts but it’s the mere fact of being able to give gifts to our children that delights us.) In the recent years Marc’s boss has given him a bonus the last week of Christmas and we would scramble to the store to pick up gifts.

Then came this year… Two weeks before Thanksgiving my husband came home at 9:30 in the morning with a box in his hand. “Hi? What are you doing here?” I asked confused. He told me his boss was closing the front of the store. He no longer needed my husband to work for him. He continued with his story and I could feel the tears wanting to spill out as questions mounted in my heart. On the other side I could hear the Lord whispering for me to trust Him. The tears did flow but even as they did I told the kids we can trust the Lord. We are going to be okay.

Then began the row of miracles that are still unfolding. Marc’s boss gave him extra money that we were able to pay bills for November and most of December. After some phone calls we were able to get help with the other bills. We thought we were sitting pretty good until we checked the account and realized it was all just enough to get the bills paid and put food on the table. I was certainly glad for it but was hoping to buy gifts for Christmas. The next morning I woke up in the wee hours saddened about Christmas. I know…I know it’s not about the gifts but I love to see my child’s eyes light up as they know they know we didn’t forget them. I wrestled that night with my thoughts. I was truly thankful for the Lord’s help yet saddened we couldn’t come through another year for our kids. I know God often comes through but usually it’s at the last minute and this was only the beginning of December. After being up several hours I prayed until I was finally able to go back to sleep.

The next day I was told that some people found out about our situation and were going to buy gifts for the kids. Praise God!!! I was so thankful the Lord let me know early. An answered prayer! A few days later someone came to our door and gave us some money. I was surprised and thankful. Our boys’ birthdays fall right in with the holidays and I’ve always said it’s not fair to them not to get a birthday present just because of where their birthdays fall. With that money I got my boys birthday presents. Praise the Lord! I had NO IDEA how I was going to do that. Ending there would have made the season great. I could feel God’s love pour over us through these people but God wasn’t done yet. The blessings kept coming. Through God’s people we were blessed with more. We have been abundantly supplied for! Wow!!! Yet God had more…

My husband and I had been talking for a few months about him starting his own business working on computers and specializing in helping churches. He’s very good at those things and good with people. We had a feeling a few months ago something was up with his boss. We talked out how his business might look. We forgot about it for a few weeks then out of the blue one morning I asked him if he was still thinking about doing his own business, not knowing he was going to lose his job that day. He said yes but we weren’t thinking it was going to happen yet. I guess the Lord had other plans. My husband got to work with his business plans right away. He couldn’t offically start til the beginning of the year to keep this year’s taxes simple. Yet people began calling and business began. Without even trying the word has been starting to get out. What a blessing!

Also around this time I began having some health issues come up. First I ignored them and tried to put them on the back burner. My husband told me to call the Dr. but I didn’t have insurance and don’t want to be a financial burden to my family. We are still paying on the surgery I had last year. One morning in my quiet time I was praying about something else and I felt a peace that I should call the Dr. and I’d be able to get insurance. That’s just what happened. I went to the Dr. blindly trusting that if the Lord said I’d get help paying for it I would. I just received word that I will be getting help. Praise God!!! Though they still aren’t sure of what all is going on with me, God has given me promises for that too. After all of this why would I even think God would be wrong this time!

In all our Christmas’ together, my husband and I have never seen our tree so full or so P1010245

many people pouring God’s love over us. If you are one of those people who have blessed us… Thank you so much!!! Your caring for our family has spoken volumes to my husband and I and our children. Lessons that hopefully these young hearts will never forget that God loves us and is faithful in all His promises.

I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever!

Ephesians 3:17b-21 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

