What’s The Point

I recently self-published my first book. It’s been a learning process that I’ve barely just begun. You know the saying, “the more you know, the more you know you don’t know”? That’s how I’ve been feeling lately. Editing, publishing, and marketing are a whole new world to me. I have so much to learn but I see how God has helped guide me through. Showing me doors to walk through.

After my books were delivered to my door my husband and I went to see if local stores would put either my book and/or his CD in their store. (He has recorded an album of his piano compositions.) Several places took our products and said they’d review them, then call us later. One store had a processing fee that, for both of us to pay, was a bit steep for us. We decided not to have my husband’s CD at that store because it was a better market for my book and would not be worth the price both of us would have to pay. When my husband went to pick up his CD, he mentioned this to the worker and was told that because self publishing has become so much easier they had to charge a processing fee to weed some people out. When I heard this I thought to myself, if there is such a flood of self-published books then why am I even bothering to do this? What does it matter if I write a book or not? What’s the point? I struggled with these thoughts for a day or so. Then I shared my feelings with my husband. He said he could relate. He feels the same way when he sees great piano players. As we talked it over, we were reminded why we are writing music, books, and even blog posts. These are gifts the Lord has given us. This is P1000907how He wired us to be. We are using our gifts to glorify Him. WeP1000283 used to write stories, poems and songs that we’d occasionally share with a family member or friend. Mostly we just kept these things to ourselves though. Now we feel the Lord leading us get this out to more people. We never wanted our words to be buried in boxes full of journals or our music die with us. We want to share with others what God has put in our hearts.

God gives us talents and passions. What we do with them is our gift to the Lord. When the Lord first told me to start a blog I was resistant. Who would read it anyway? Yet the promptings of the Holy Spirit continued. No matter what my reasoning or logic was to not do it, God was giving me direction. My job was to obey. It was the same with the book. It seemed like a big project – something beyond me, yet God showed me how to work through it step by step. God will not give us something to do just to keep us busy. He has work for all of us to do. The Bible says there is a lot of work to be done fP1010730or the Kingdom of God and the workers are few. The part you have to play is important – no matter how small it may seem. Each piece fits into the other. We all need to do what God has called us to do.

With the amount of people in the world today I’m sure the gift God has given you will touch the lives of a people group somewhere. Even if we can’t see how everything works out, it’s important that we are obedient to do what God is prompting us to. It may be that He does more than we could ever ask or imagine.

The rain and snow come down from the heavens and stay on the ground to water the earth. They cause the grain to grow, producing seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry. It is the same with my word. I sent it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it. Isaiah 55:10-11 (NLT)

He told them,“The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into His harvest field.” Luke 10:2 (NIV)

Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations for ever and ever. Amen! Ephesians 3:20-21 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

