A Picture of Trust

pic-of-trust10302016As a newborn my daughter didn’t like to wake up for her feedings. She would be content to sleep all day. I had to wake her so she would eat. Which was not easy. I would pick her up so she was facing me. I would talk to her, blow on her face or make weird sounds in attempts to wake her. She would continue to sleep with her little arms flopped out to the sides. She looked so peaceful, as though she didn’t have a care in the world. A perfect picture of contentment and trust.

I would like to be like that with my Heavenly Father. Trusting Him so much that I could rest all my cares into His hands. Trusting completely the One who is holding me. So much that all my fears, all my worries just melt away. And here, completely surrendered to the One that holds me, all I feel is peace. Perfect peace that is not contingent upon what is going on around me. Peace that is not based on the amount of money in my bank account or on any situation that may be on the horizon. But trusting that the One who holds me loves me more than I can fathom and has my best interest at heart.

…Though the mountains be shaken and the hills removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed, will not be removed,” says the LORD, who has compassion on you. Isaiah 54:10

I do no need to be shaken when the world around me rises up in upheavals that come from a broken world. I do not need to be anxious about what politician stands in what office because Jesus is King of all and He is still in control. I do not need to be concerned when I am short on food, money or time. Heaven never experiences famine. My Father not only owns the cattle on a thousand hills but he can multiply my food and have it brought to me by ravens if He wants. I do not need to worry about relationships that are difficult but I need to trust the Lord and lay it all at His feet. I don’t have the answer to all these situations or life’s difficulties but I know that the Lord does and I know He told me not to worry or be anxious about anything. He told me to trust Him and not to fear. So before I let anxiousness steal one more good night’s rest from me, I will choose to be like that little child that rests in hands of the One who loves her so much.

Be still and know that I am God…

Psalm 46:10

Leave a Reply

