Feeling Blessed

p1030826There is a big world out there. There are many different cultures, languages, food, clothes, religions, governments and ways of life. I want my children to catch a glimpse of this bigger world we live in. I want my children to understand God loves every people, tribe and nation. He not only loves every one of them but wants them to live in the victory Christ gave us at the cross. I want them to see there are differences but there are also similarities of all peoples around the world. I want to equip my children to be world changers.

This year I decided to fill a shoebox with my kids for Operation Christmas Child. I took the kids to the OCC website and showed them all about this ministry. I’ve participated in filling shoeboxes before when I was in MOPS but have never done it on my own. It’s been a great experience so far. It’s a great way for the kids to get involved in helping someone in another country. (If you are interested it’s not to late for you to fill a shoebox. Collection week is the week of Nov. 14-21. You can go to www.samaritanspurse.org/what-we-do/operation-christmas-child/ for more information.)

I’ve also been reading my kids a book called “Adventures in Other Lands” p1030832for Bible class. It has short stories about children who live in faraway lands whose lives were touched by a missionary. It’s put out by A Beka Books and is supposed to be used as part of their reading program. I am using a different reading program for my kids but wanted to read this book to open their eyes to other places around the world. Boy has it ever! It has also effected me.

I feel so blessed to live in the United States. Sure we have issues that need to be dealt with, but I am so thankful for the freedoms we have. Freedom to worship the way we think is right. Freedom to homeschool. Freedom to write this blog. Freedom to vote. Freedom to live and work where we want. Freedom to own things. May we never take our freedoms for granted but use them to glorify the Lord.

I’m not a materialistic person but I am thankful for the material possessions we have. I am also not a rich person but here in the U.S. we are blessed with so much. I am so thankful for our home, for our appliances and electricity, for clean water. I’m thankful that my kids have toys, blankets, school books, and school and art supplies. In this country we are blessed to have access to so many wonderful Christian resources. I’m thankful to have clothes and food and that if we are in need of these things there are places we can go to for help. I’m thankful for internet access. The list could go on and on.

Reading these stories to my children was a great reminder for me to stop worrying about the things we are in need of and be thankful for what we do have. A reminder that God is bigger than any problem I have. His faithfulness reaches to the ends of the Earth. He will never forget us. He will never leave us. His love is everlasting.

Just when I was beginning to worry about money, the Lord gave me these stories as a gentle reminder to be thankful. My hope is this can remind you to be thankful too.

Let all that I am praise the LORD; may I never forget the good things he does for me.

Psalm 103:2

Leave a Reply

